الترميم-الحفظ

ترميم جداريات كنيسة مار تادروس في بحديدات بقضاء جبيل- لبنان (2009- 2012)

يعود بناء كنيسة بحديدات في قضاء جبيل إلى القرن الحادي عشر، وهي مُدرجة في قائمة المواقع الأثرية الوطنية منذ عام 1966. وتقع الكنيسة على قمة تلّ يرتفع ما يقارب 550 مترُا فوق سطح البحر وتبعد عشر كيلومترات إلى الشمال الشرقي من مدينة جبيل. وتعود ملكية الكنيسة إلى أبرشية جبيل المارونية، فيما تختصّ المديرية العامة للآثار في وزارة الثقافة بشؤون الحفاظ عليها.

وقد بدأت أعمال مشروع ترميم جداريات كنيسة مار تادروس في بحديدات بإشراف السيدة إيزابيل ضومط سكاف، مدير شركة “كونسرفاسيون ش.م.م”، وبإدارة الدكتور زكي أصلان، ممثلا برنامج آثار بمنظمة إيكروم، عام 2009. وضم فريق العمل أربعة مرممين لبنانيين: ايزابيل ضومط سكاف، ونتالي حنا، وبدر جبور جدعون، وغادة سالم اللتين كانتا قد شاركتا في دورة تدريبية أقامها برنامج آثار. كما اشتمل الفريق على ثلاثة مرممين إيطاليين: جيورجيو كابريوتي وكاترينا ميشليني توشي وسيلفيا تريبولاتي.

قبل بدء العمل، كانت الجداريات في حالة سيئة للغاية رغم ما بُذل من جهد لمنع تسرّب المياه من سقف الكنيسة. وشملت أعمال الترميم التنظيف اليدوي (بواسطة المشرط، الاسطوانات، الفراشي، إلخ)؛ والتنظيف الكيماوي باستعمال محاليل عضوية، وتعزيز الدعامات من خلال الحقن، ومعالجة الكائنات المجهرية، والأملاح الذائبة المجففة والأملاح غير القابلة للذوبان. كذلك أعيد عزل السطح  لمنع تسرّب المياه وتمّت إعادة طلاء الواجهة للحدّ من تسرّب المياه  وتوفير الحماية لجداريات الكنيسة على المدى البعيد.

وبمناسبة إكمال مشروع الترميم، أقيم يوم الجمعة في 13 أيلول/ سبتمبر 2013، حفل افتتاح للكنيسة بحضور معالي وزير الثقافة غابي ليون مثّلت فيه مركز إيكروم-آثار السيدة راوية مجذوب بركة.

linea_news02التراث العالمي

ورشة عمل حول إدارة مواقع التراث العالمي- عُمان (20-23 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2012)

ساهم مركز إيكروم-آثار في ورشة عمل نظمها في عمان المركز العربي الإقليمي للتراث العالمي استمرت أربعة أيام، إذ ترأس المركز نشاطات اليومين الأخيرين للورشة وتناولت مبادئ الحفظ وإدارة التراث. وكان الموضوع الرئيسي للورشة التي اعتمدت الجمع بين المحاضرات والتمارين العملية، تنمية قدرات المهنيين العاملين في مواقع التراث العالمي في عمان. وقد عبّر المشاركون عن تقديرهم لمنظمة إيكروم لتقديمها مبادئ حفظ مواقع التراث العالمي وإدارتها خلال الندوة.

linea_news02

ورشة عمل حول إعداد ملفات التراث العالمي – دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة (31 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر- 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، 2012)

تمتلك الإمارات العربية المتحدة تاريخًا عريقًا وتراثًا ثقافيًا غنيًا يضم شواهد على حضارات عاشت وازدهرت على هذه الأرض لما يزيد عن سبعة آلاف سنة وهي ما تزال تقف شاهدًا عليها إلى يومنا هذا. وتتمتع بعض هذه المواقع الثقافية بقيمة عالمية استثنائية تؤهلها للانضمام إلى قائمة التراث العالمي، إذ تعدّ “مواقع العين الثقافية: حفيت وهيلي وبدع بنت سعود ومنطقة الواحات” أول ممتلك ثقافي في دولة الإمارات يسجلّ عام 2011 في قائمة التراث العالمي.

وتستفيد المواقع والممتلكات الثقافية المسجلة في قائمة التراث العالمي من فرص أفضل لحفظها وحمايتها وفقا للمعايير الدولية المتفق عليها بمنظمة اليونسكو، وتكتسب تلك الممتلكات والمواقع ذات القيمة العالمية الاستثنائية اهتمامًا عالميًا وتغدو موضع جذب للسياحة الدولية.

لهذه الغاية قام المجلس الوطني للسياحة والآثار بالإمارات العربية المتحدة بالتعاون مع عدد من المنظمات، ومنها مركز إيكروم-آثار، بتشكيل لجنة وطنية من خبراء ومختصين لإعداد ملفات ترشيح المواقع المدرجة في القائمة التمهيدية (المؤقتة) للإمارات للتسجيل في قائمة التراث العالمي، وتحديد البرنامج الزمني لتقديم تلك الملفات إلى مركز التراث العالمي باليونسكو. وقد عقدت اللجنة عدة اجتماعات انتهت إلى تحديد مواعيد تقديم ملفات ترشيح المواقع التالية: “خور دبي” في 2014، و”موقع الدور” في 2016، و”المشهد الثقافي للمنطقة الوسطى في إمارة الشارقة” في 2017.

linea_news02

الهيئات الاستشارية لمركز التراث العالمي تقيم ورشة عمل تدريبية للخبراء - تونس (17-20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، 2012)

قدم مركز إيكروم-آثار الإقليمي لحفظ التراث الثقافي في الوطن العربي دراسة حالات لمواقع التراث العالمي في الوطن العربي مسلّطًا الضوء على المعيارين الأساسيين اللذين  يحددان القيمة العالمية الاستثنائية للموقع وهما: الأصالة والتكامل، فضلًا عن تناول موضوع  إدارة مواقع التراث العالمي. وشارك في ورشة العمل مهنيون من الجزائر والمغرب وتونس وموريتانيا تم انتقاؤهم بناءً على توصية مركز آثار.

• CONSERVATION-RESTORATION

Conservation of Frescoes of Saint Theodore’s Church (Mar Tadros) in Bahdidat in Byblos – Lebanon (2009-2012)

(Saint Theodore’s  church  (Mar Tadros) was listed as a historic monument in Lebanon in 1966. Built in the eleventh century, it is located on the top of a hill at around550 meters above sea level,10 kilo meters northeast  of Byblos(Jbeil). The church is the property of the Archdiocese of Jbeil (Byblos), but its preservation is the responsibility of the Ministry of Culture Directorate General of Antiquities.

The restoration project of the frescoes of Saint Theodore’s church (Mar Tadros) in Bahdidat (Jbeil district) started in2009 in the framework of ICCROM’s ATHAR Programme under the supervision of Ms. Isabelle Doumet Skaf, director of Conservation SARL Company, and the management of Dr. Zaki Aslan, representing ICCROM-ATHAR. The team working on the project included four Lebanese conservators: Isabelle Doumet Skaf, Nathalie Hanna, Badr Jabbour Gedeon and Ghada Salem – the latter two were former ATHAR Programme trainees – and three Italian experts, namely, Giorgio Capriotti, Caterina Michelini Tocci, and Sylvia Tribolati.

At the beginning of the restoration work, the state of conservation of the frescoes was alarming despite efforts to prevent water infiltration into the building. Interventions included simple cleaning (i.e. scalpel, brushes), chemical cleaning using organic solutions and consolidation by injection, treatment of micro-organisms, dried soluble and insoluble salts. Waterproofing of the roof was also redone and repointing of the façade was executed to reduce water seepage and ensure long-term protection of the paintings in the church. Mortars and pigments were analyzed to obtain additional information on the ancient techniques used by local painters in medieval times.

Upon the completion of the restoration project of the frescoes of the church,  inauguration of the restoration project took place on Friday, the 13th of September, in the presence of H.E Mr. Gabi Layoun, Minister of Culture. Also present at the event was Dr. Rawya Majzoub – Barake, representing ICCROM-ATHAR Regional Centre.

linea_news02

  • WORLD HERITAGE

Workshop on Managing World Heritage Sites  -  Oman (October, 20-23, 2012)

ATHAR Centre has contributed to the four-day workshop in Oman co-organized with the ARC-World Heritage Centre and led the last two days of training in the area of site management and conservation principles. Building the capacity of professionals working on World Heritage Sites in Oman was the main topic discussed throughout the workshop, which was carried out through an integration of lectures and exercises. The participants appreciated ICCROM’s contribution in introducing principles in Site Management and Conservation of World Heritage sites.

linea_news02

Workshop on Preparing World Heritage Nomination Files – Dubai, United Arab Emirates  (October 31- November 1, 2012)

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has a long history and a rich cultural heritage encompassing different civilizations that thrived on this land for more than seven millennia, and continues to exist until today. Some of these cultural sites have an outstanding universal value that qualify them for inscription on the World Heritage List.  The “Cultural Sites of Al Ain (Hafit, Hili, Bidaa Bint Saud and Oases Areas)” was the first and the only site to date in the UAE inscribed on the List in 2011.

Inscribing cultural sites and properties on the World Heritage List, increases the opportunities of their preservation and conservation according to the international standards set by UNESCO. A World Heritage property or site gains worldwide attention and becomes an international tourist attraction.

The National Council of Tourism and Antiquities, in cooperation with several organizations  among which is the ATHAR Regional Conservation Centre, has formed a national committee of experts and specialists to prepare the nomination files for the sites on the UAE’s “Tentative List” and to schedule their submission to the World Heritage Centre. The Committee has held several meetings which have resulted in the scheduling of the nomination of three sites so far, “Khor Dubai” in 2014, “Ad-Dur Site” in 2016, and the “The Cultural Landscape of the Central Region in the Emirate of Sharjah” in 2017.

linea_news02

Expert Training Workshop by the Advisory Bodies to the World Heritage Convention – Tunisia (November 17-20, 2012)

The ATHAR Regional Conservation Centre presented case studies from World Heritage Sites in the Arab region and highlighted issues related to the two main pillars of the Outstanding Universal Value criteria namely; authenticity, integrity as well as to the management of World Heritage sites in the Arab states.

The participants in this sub-regional workshop were from Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco and Mauritania: they were selected upon ATHAR Centre’s recommendation.